Monthly wrap-ups

August 2020 wrap-up

IMG_9928

My wrap up for August

6

rachelwhitetoo15

I feel like I had a pretty epic reading month this month because out of the 18 books I read, there were SO many amazing ones on my list!  There were a few I had been super excited for that didn’t live up to my expectations though (Blood & Honey and Cinderella is Dead are on that list) but some unexpected favourites made up for it!  I also participated in the MS Readathon with a brilliant team of bookstagrammers this month and we managed to raise far more than we had originally hoped 🤗

My 4.5 / 5 stars for this month were:

 

Vengeance Blooms:  A fantastic epic fantasy by an Aussie author that I just devoured!  Make sure you visit @chloeschapters on Instagram and check out this series.

 

A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows:  I  left it way too long to read this series.  I have loved everything I’ve ever read from VE Schwab so I have no idea why I didn’t pick it up sooner!  I’ve just got the third book to read now.

 

When I Was Ten:  If you love dark, twisty and horrifying thrillers, I’d highly recommend picking this one up!

 

The Kinder Poison:  This one hasn’t seemed to attract much hype and I have no idea why, it’s a brilliant story!

 

Challenger Deep:  A strange but ultimately heartbreaking book.  I had no idea what was going on at first, but once I worked it out I loved it while it destroyed me.

 

The Loop:  Awesome Maze Runner vibes in this terrifying dystopian, set in a futuristic prison!

 

Terraleise: The Lost Child of the Crown: An amazing fantasy with sensational characters that made me wish I had the sequel in my hands immediately.  I was honoured to be able to present this book in a bookstagram tour with my tour business, @readthebooktours

 

The Suicide House:  Another @readthebooktours tour book that blew me away!  I’ve been on a bit of a thriller kick this month and I’d highly recommend getting your hands on this one!  I’ve been making my way through all the author’s other books on audio now!

 

Rebel Gods: The sequel to Monuments, this series has been SO fun!

 

None Shall Sleep:  Another crime thriller I fell head over heels for!  This one follows two  teenagers who have been asked to interview teenage serial killers to see if they’ll open up to people their own age.

 

Some Choose Darkness:  Another book by the same author as The Suicide House.  This one, although not technically the prequel, had some of the same characters and I loved learning more about them.

 

The Reckless Afterlife of Harriet Stoker:  If you’re a lover of ghost stories, this one is one with a bit of a twist.  Somewhat creepy, but not too scary, it follows a group of teenage ghosts trying to fit into their afterlife.  The characters are the absolute best and I found some  all time favourites here!

 

 

As usual, clicking on the pics below will take you to my reviews (Some reviews may not be live on my blog yet as I post them on the book’s release date due to publisher’s requests, so keep your eye on my blog for those reviews in September)  🙂

Let me know in the comments what your favourite read was for August!

 

                

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “August 2020 wrap-up”

  1. Such a great reading month! It’s been a while since I found a new favorite. But I’m very excited about some of my September reads, hopefully one of them will speak to me 🙂

    I still need to read the Darker Shade of Magic… I bought the whole trilogy over 3 years ago and it still sits on my shelves unread 😀

    Like

Leave a comment